It is important that we maintain and protect the beautiful building of the past, even if it is expensive for countries to do so.

Maintenance of historic structures is a much-discussed issue among experts, and these should be protected regardless of incurring expenses. I agree with this viewpoint because it not only connects a person to the glorious older architectural era but also benefits to a nation in the form of a tourist destination. To begin with, the old buildings should be maintained and protected even if governments have to spend a hefty amount in this process because such structures connect people to the ancient lifestyle and activities. For example, the government of Punjab state in India has been spending one million Indian Rupees every year since 1947 to maintain the Jalianwala Bagh, in Amristsar, Punjab which provides how our freedom fighters sacrifices their lives. Therefore, if people visit such ancient places, they can get to know about the facts that were unknown to them earlier, and this chain continues. So, preservation and maintenance of these monuments become essential. Moreover, a nation will get benefitted in the form of tourism if valuable ancient buildings are maintained properly. While visiting such places, tourists have to purchase tickets, and this collected money can be utilized in other development purposes by governments. Thereby, the economy of nations increases by maintaining the old structures. To illustrate, to visit the Taj Mahal, overseas visitors must buy an entry ticket before entering the monument premises. Consequently, provincial as well as federal governments are collecting a huge amount by selling the tickets only. Hence, the maintenance of older buildings becomes significant, even it is expensive. To summarize, I believe that the older constructed sites should be prevented and preserved because these link the public to the past. Furthermore, these structures also help to sustain the economy of a nation.