International travel is becoming cheaper than before, so more and more countries open their doors to tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to the low-cost airline which makes it possible for many people to travel around the world. In my opinion, the benefits of tourism outweigh the disadvantages because not only does it provide employment opportunity for indigenous, but also assist with an increase in foreign reserve. Admittedly, there are many drawbacks to the tourism industry. One of them is water pollution. To elucidate, the majority of tourist travels around places such as beaches and monuments, they often leave disposal, waste such as containers and water bottles on the coast of beaches, which causes water pollution. For example, a recent survey by Harvard University reveals that 68% of water pollution is contributed by tourist visits. Another negative is the increase in the crime rate. Most rich tourist from other country tends to carry valuable items like costly mobile phones, laptops, credit cards, so there is a high probability that tourist can become victim easily by the local people. Despite the downsides, I believe that positive of tourism far outweigh the negatives. One of these is that it provides jobs to a local citizen. As tourist travel around the cities requires the hotel to stay, transport for travel and bars for enjoyment, all such areas require huge manpower to cater to them. Hence, we can say undeniably, tourism industry helps in creating employment for locals. The rise in forex reserve is another fundamental benefit which tourism brings. To exemplify, when international tourist visits to another country they have to exchange their currency with local currency to expenses locally by exploring different places, having food in a restaurant or staying in hotels. The amount spent by them rotates in the economy, which helps in the financial growth of the country. In conclusion, even though tourism industry has many downsides, I think that creating employment opportunities for locals and a rise in the financial economy are important factors.