International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

A booming industry, the international tourism has gotten the momentum quickly. Undoubtedly, it benefits tourist places enormously. However, it has also several disadvantages too. This essay is an attempt to evaluate, whether the merits outweigh the demerits. Looking at the positive side, by levying heavy taxes on foreigners, the government can earn a handsome revenue, which makes the nation's economy even stronger. Further, as tourists come from remote areas, they need several facilities, such as, accommodations, foods and tour guides, which increase the employment prospects for local folks. For example, there are several countries, whose citizens are totally dependent on the tourism. Moreover, people get an opportunity to demonstrate their local culture to foreigners, which improves the respect of the nation on the global platform. Looking at the negative side, increasing transportation increases air as well as noise pollution in the local area, which can have a deleterious effect on the health of local dwellers. Additionally, heavy littering wastage by visitors, makes the situation worse for the locals. For instance, it is surveyed by the National Tourist Department that, they find a million of tons of waste, every year, around only one famous place, the red fort, in India. As, there are a number of such places available in India, the total wastage is astoundingly high. Although, the amount of the disposal of these wastages is lower than the revenue, generated by the tourism. To conclude, despite, several disadvantages of this industry, it has a plethora of benefits too. So, according to me the advantages definitely outweigh the drawbacks.