International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

There is no doubt that international tourists have brought a lot of positive impact to many countries. However, these benefits also come with many negative issues. Personally, I feel that international tourism has resulted more advantages than disadvantages to the affected nations in general. In this essay, I will examine both the benefits and their related cost and support my opinion accordingly. First of all, many people argue that many local inhabitants have been sacrificed in order to make way for the development of tourist attractions. For examples, trees were cut down so that hotels can be constructed; local old buildings were destroyed and replaced by new shopping malls; local residence have to be relocated so that their land can be used for new airports. However, people tend to ignore the economics and social benefits brought by these developments. For example, the number of jobs created by the constructions of hotels and shopping malls could stimulate the economic growth of a nation and benefit the people and the nation. Secondly, many people also claimed that the invasion of foreign tourists will increase the social problems such as crime rates immoral activities. For examples, they claimed that tourists usually like to visit pubs and clubs in the evening and that will lead to higher rate of alcohol related problems such as noise pollution, alcohol-related violence like fights and batterings and prostitution. However, I believe that the millions of foreign dollars brought in by these tourists could actually decrease the problems if the money are put into proper used by the government. For example, the tax collected from the entertainment outlet could be used to help combat crime and actually make safer country. In conclusion, I believe that if we look at the overall picture of international tourism when doing the cost-benefit analysis, we will see that they have more advantages than disadvantages.