Inspite of advancement made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

It is said that if the people of a nation sleep empty stomach, it is the failure of the nation. There have been a large number of advances in agriculture yet the people suffer with hunger. Advances in agriculture includes chemicals, improved infrastructure, better machines, machines for stubble management etc. Though the advances have supported agriculture in many areas but there are still man areas where the development hasn't reached or the farmers can't afford such high priced technologies. In simpler terms, the benefit of this hasn't reached the common man. The newly developed infrastructure adds to the cost of production of the crops. A large amount of farmers are unaware about the type of crops that should be grown in a particular depending on the weather conditions and soil conditions which takes its toll on price with price increasing due to additional effort. One of the major reason for people starving is poverty. Not earning enough to fulfil even the food needs of a family is a problem with various houses. Furthermore, a fact that cannot be ignored and is also a primary contributor to the problem is hoarding. Many rich companies purchase the crops form the market and hoard it, which creates a pseudo-scarcity in the market and then these profit makers increase the price of food. The increased price doesn’t fit the pocket of the poor thereby making it impossible for them to consume food. A similar example was seen few year back in my country India, where onions were hoarded, which led to onion prices touching the skies. There are some ways by which starving can be protected. In the world where rich is getting richer and poor is getting poorer, a need to fill the gap should be a major focus. Wasting the food at ceremonies, wedding functions, restaurants is a common scenario. People are ought to learn the value of food and should avoid wastage of food. NGO’s and other social organisations must come forward to create awareness and also to collect and distribute the extra food to the needy. Government also needs to play its role for the cause by implementing stricter laws such that the rates in the market can’t be manipulated. Starving of people is a problem that needs utmost attention. Everybody has to aid in the solution and work towards eradicating hunger issue from world.