In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, some little local stores have been closing due to customers are doing their shopping in distant larger stores. Whereas large shopping centres can offer a broad range of products, in my opinion this is a negative development, since local shops can better serve the closer communities with fresh food. On one hand, usually bigger shopping centres are part of an international entity which is present in several countries abroad. Thus, this kind of shops can offer to its clients a wide range of different brands and products. For instance, not only some special coffee brands but also international seasoning can only be found in big shopping malls. Consequently, large shopping centres are prefered for many people when they want to buy some specific product. On the other hand, small local markets do not need to have a huge food warehouse, since the quantity is supposed to answer a local community demand only. Hence, these shops tend to have more fresh food than bigger ones. For example, there is no need for stocking high quantity of either fruits or metas, because the same people visit the shop for buying them. Therefore, the products stay for just a few days on the shelves until they are bought for someone. In conclusion, the large shopping centres can offer all kind of products from different parts of the world; however, the local markets are better in offering fresh food for their customers. Then, I believe, having few local markets is a negative development.