Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace. Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages? Write at l

With the advancement in the internet and software allow us to work from home or any remote place. Although some people believe this change as negative growth for society and work culture, the benefits are far more superior for companies and employees as well. I strongly agree with this notion and will explain my views in further paragraphs. Earlier, for any official work, people had to be present in their office because of technological limitations such as poor internet connectivity, software access, and inadequate hardware. For instance, to resolve an issue on client site, company needed to deploy two employees, one at client location and another at base office location. Because of seamless internet connection and new invention of software, service provider can resolve a technical issue by talking remote access to the client laptops and PCs. Is it not a win-win situation for both parties – time-saving and prompt service? Moreover, work from home is possible because of improvement in information technology as we need only one laptop and internet to communicate with our client and project members. As this culture – work from home – is beneficial for both employee and employers, many organisations are promoting this culture. For example, running cost of company will get reduced because of minimal electricity usages. At the same time, employee can give time to their family, which lead to a job satisfaction. However, no one can deny the fact that the team bonding of a team will get stronger if team member meet frequently and share their thoughts in a formal live gathering, which is not at all possible in virtual gathering like video conferencing. As a result, attachment towards office and colleagues are reduced these days. Secondly, employee may not be serious about his work as there is no one to look after him, while working from home. To sum up, even though there are few demerits of information technology such as poor bonding in team, reduced seriousness about jobs, the merits have definitely outnumbered negatives as cost reduction and employee satisfaction are the two top most priority for any organisation.