Individuals should not be allowed to carry guns as it increases crime and violence in society.

Undoubtedly, although guns are used for one's security, there are high chances that it can be exploited in certain ways. This essay will discuss both the positive, and the negative sides of a common man possessing a gun, and given reasons why I believe civilians should be prohibited to use such weapon. To begin with, one significant reason for gun possession is protection of oneself from crimes. For example, women, when alone, are mostly vulnerable to theft, molestation or even rape. It is likely that women carrying a weapon with them would deter the perpetrator from executing such crime. This is important because crime against women are increasing everyday. Conversely, if permitted to carry a gun, there is a possibility that females might use it to take revenge for personal matters. This will lead to illegal harming and killings of people in the society. Considering the drawbacks of arms possession by a common man, one of the demerits is the limitation for gun laws. Although every such weapon is registered and concerned authority has the record of the gun, as well as the bullets carried by the individuals, often the gun is not used to fire someone, but it is used to threat the victim. This means that the police will struggle to track the person who committed the crime. Additionally, if this weapon is not kept in a secured place, it might land into the wrong hands. For example, it has been reported that recently a child in the United States, brought his father's gun in the school, and mistakenly shot at one of the classmate. In conclusion, despite the aforementioned reasons of security a gun brings along with it, there is high risk of its misuse in the form of revenge and landing in wrong hands, which increases the crime rate and violence in the society.