Independent TOEFL essay - TPO 14: A/D? People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries.

Travelling expands one' s view, increases one' s experience, and broadens the information. The way I see it, both trip to one' s own country and to a foreign country can instruct worthwhile lessons and can benefit the traveler. However, the situations that people cope with in a country are similar. Hence, I prefer to travel to abroad. What follows is the elaboration of my viewpoint. A journey outside a country endows people with a broad insight. That is to say, the more people travel to different countries, the deeper their outlook becomes. For example, when I was at the dormitory a few years ago, I encountered many students from different countries with diverse cultures. It was difficult for me to accept the differences at first and sometimes, I got upset by their behavior. However, my roommate, who had travelled a lot, dealt with them surprisingly well since she knew that they do not misbehave intentionally. Therefore, going to many places and facing with many customs had given a deep insight to my roommate. Overseas travelling bestow great experiences on people and makes them face with different situations and the solutions that local people use to not be in trouble. For instance, once the electricity of my apartment cut off because of some problems in the electricity network in a hot summer day, I drenched a piece of cloth and put it on my head - the same as the way some people use in lower altitudes. I learned it when I traversed to a desert in central Iran that water evaporates and cools you down and suppresses your body to lose fluids. Hence, I used my experience of a trip to deal with a problem. It is also important to bear in mind that experiencing new conditions and facing various issues and people give a breadth of knowledge. In fact, observing is a way of gaining information. As students learn about a particular subject in a field trip, the traveler learns new information by going abroad and observing new places, customs, and people. Decisively, if one assesses the benefits of travelling abroad, one soon realizes that it is worth to see a foreign country at least once. In fact, the differences between lifestyle in foreign countries and the one' s own country can be advantageous since it provides profound outlook, valuable experience and wider knowledge.