Essay topics: TPO-14 - Independent Writing Task People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Energy is a powerful commodity that controls the functioning of the entire world. Solar energy obtained from the light rays of our Sun has seen a recent rise in its popularity, especially as a source of energy in many households across the globe. There is a possible explanation of this situation. Energy production from non-renewable sources like coal and petrol will be difficult / will be less viable in the near future not only because of the reduction in their reserve but also due to the high costs quoted by the countries which hold their reserves. Therefore the entire globe has become busy in developing renewable sources of energy. Since sunlight is available in abundance, solar energy has become a better alternative to other forms of energy. Solar energy has its pros and cons, but the pros outweigh its cons. An advantage of solar energy is that it can be harnessed without having to build expensive power plants. Families can install solar panels on their roofs and generate an adequate amount of energy to run household appliances such as lights, fans, heaters, refrigerators and so on. It is very simple and just needs the Sun out there in the sky. It is also clean and does not pollute the land or the air. On the other hand, solar strength grids come with their own price which is affordable to the underdeveloped and developing countries around the Equator. These are the countries which benefit most from the solar energy owing to their geographical location. In the developed western world the situation is quite the opposite. These countries are cold and receive only a small amount of sunlight. Consequently, not much solar energy can be generated there. Despite these shortcomings, Germany has emerged as the world leader in solar energy production, according to a recent report issued by WHO. Germans have well understood the proverb “Make hay while the Sun shines”. It is now time for the entire world to follow suit. To conclude, solar energy is gaining popularity because it is safe and clean. In the coming years as the technology develops and solar panels become more affordable, its popularity will only increase.