Increase in the price of petrol is the best way to solve the traffic jams and pollution problem. To the what extent you agree or disagree with this statement. What other measures can be taken to solve traffic problem and pollution problem

Traffic and pollution are a growing problem in most major countries around the world. Some propose that raising petrol price is the best way to solve these problems. However, I disagree. This essay will explain why and also suggest some other ways to minimise congestion and pollution. I do not believe that making petrol more expensive for motorists will reduce the amount of cars on the road. This is a weak deterrent for people because drivers are used with incremental increases in petrol costs. Fuel price regularly goes up and down due to international affairs and people still drive their cars regardless of the cost. Therefore, I do not think it is an effective method in solving environmental problems that results from traffic. I do, however, believe that there are other methods that be more effective. Firstly, there needs to be alternative forms of transport in big cities, like Melbourne, have instituted initiatives like public bike sharing. This encourages people to ride rather than drive. Another solution is to make public transport accessible in all areas. Again, in Melbourne, most neighbourhoods have a train station or tram access, but many do not. Building public transport in more areas will provide more opportunities for people to choose not to drive. Overall, raising the cost of fuel will not deter people from driving. I believe, the best way to decrease traffic and reduce pollution is to provide alternative forms of transport and provide access to public transport that do not currently have it.