Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. with the above statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Today, there are many challenges in front of humankind, which need to be sold by hook or crook. Out of many, two problems are growing number of vehicles on roads and air quality control are raised due to increase in population. I do not agree with the given opinion about the hike in the price of petrol as, it is not the only one option to solve these issues. On the other hand, intense use of public transportation and strict rules about pollution control are also effective to limit traffic and harmful gases in the air. First of all, vehicles on the road is directly proportional to the population and inversely depends on infrastructure expansion like roads and flyovers. in addition to this, if efficient public transport can be built by government then most of public use that for the daily transportation. In such case, private vehicles will be reduced on the road which will positively affect the both challenges. Along with frequency of buses or trains, comfort and speed should be raised to attract more passengers. Secondly, the pollution can be controlled by efficient engines of vehicles and little bit awareness about use of it. The government has implemented the policy to check exhaust guess by PUC certificate for all types of vehicles which make sure about the efficiency of the engine. However, personal vehicle cannot be reduced to zero, but some precautions like turn off vehicles at traffic light and sharing of cars among colleagues are few basic cares which can help to limit pollution level. All in all, increase in uses of mass transportation in advancement in vehicle along with infrastructure is effective to control traffic and pollution. As, increase in the cost of oil also returned with a boost in cost of daily routine which might be not affordable for lower middle-class families.