Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. with the above statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Road congestion and air pollution are the repercussion of higher vehicles on the road. Hence, some believe that raising the fuel's price will stop both issues immediately. In my opinion, I believe that it can effectively stop both matters, along with imposing higher tax to vehicles and reducing the cost of public transportation to solve the traffic and pollution issues. Raising petrol price, in my view, can encourage citizens to use alternative transportation such as busses and trains. Therefore, as car or motorcycle users are dwindling, road traffic and pollution will simultaneously decrease. For instance, in developed countries, public transportations users often overcome private vehicles due to the expensive fuel cost. If they did not increase the fuel's price, it will be unlikely to solve road congestion and air pollution issues. While increasing the price might be useful, there are other elements that can be taken into account. Firstly, is to add higher taxes to road users. This is because of the fact that when the cost of vehicles is rising, the demand will decrease. A cigarette levy, for example, has been significantly proven to reduce the sales of tobacco in Singapore. Furthermore, lowering the public transportation fees will persuade citizens to use less car or motorcycle on the road. In conclusion, in my opinion, I believe that increasing the price can help to stop the growing traffic and air pollution on the road. Additionally, introducing higher tax and decreasing public transportation's cost are other factors that need to be considered in order to solve both issues immediately.