Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. with the above statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

In recent years, there has been an increase in the number of cars, resulting in traffic jams and pollution. It is believed that this problem can be solved by increasing petrol price, but I strongly disgaree. There are far better solutions to this problem. Petrol is one of the necessity in the modern world and increasing the price will have adverse effects. Firstly, higher fuel prices will increase inflation and put burden on everyone, including the poor people. Moreover, increasing fuel cost will raise public transport fares which will decrease the popularity of this facility. For example, if bus ticket fares are high, people will avoid using them. Thirdly, petrol prices will also negatively effect people such as farmers, who use fuel in tractors and other machinery, but do not use it in cars. Such people should not be affected since they are not contributors to the traffic problems. Fortunately, there are ways we can solve the growing traffic problem. One necessary measure is to improve public transport such as buses and trains. If their coverage and schedule is improved, people will prefer to use these services intead of the personal cars. Furthermore, promoting cycling can significantly improve the air quality and congestion on the roads. Also, creating awareness among people regarding the ride sharing benefits can provide some relief from traffic problems. For instance, if four people travel in the same car instead of separate cars, this can decrease the number of vehicles on the road, and hence reduce pollution. In conclusion, increasing the fuel price is not the effective solution to control traffic problem in my opinion. Investing on improving public transport and creating awareness regarding the benefits of cycling will yield better results.