In your opinion, is it important to learn English? Should we try ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Since the beginning of history, communication has played an important role in shaping the evolution of human behaviour. Human beings are the only creature who can communicate via sound. The use of voice to effectively convey different ideas to one another has played a pivotal role in shaping culture and societies all across the world. Thus, with variation in culture resulted in different dialects and a wide array of languages. Such geographic and cultural separation has resulted in indigenous knowledge and ideas that has been passed on from this generation to another in the form of stories, poems and phrases. But, this wealth of information may soon be lost forever. This is mainly because of globalisation. With the availability of technology where one can connect to anyone and everyone throughout the world, it has become increasingly important to have a common language so that there are virtually zero barriers to communication. Such a role has been taken by the English. When the British Empire conquered half of the world, they did not just invade and defeat kingdoms. They also enforced all subjects to learn English, thus effectively wiping thousand of dialects and cultures in a single clean sweep. The result is that almost everyone worldwide knows basic words and many countries have unofficially accepted it as a common language in that territory. Although, I don't think there is an escape from the inevitability of English as a global dialect, yet we need to find a harmonious balance so that our local dialects flourish. This can easily be done by taking the following measures. Firstly, every family should proudly nurture and pass on their mother tongue to the next generation. In fact, families should make it a point to talk only in their mother tongue at home. I have already experienced such an idea, where everyone is proud of their dialects and have the highest respect for it. Secondly, all schools should offer multilingual courses for their young students. This, would ensure that at an individual level, there arises a love for words. Also, it has been observed that children can learn to understand new languages quite easily and faster than adults can. And making this as a prerequisite in academics would ensure that they take learning seriously while at the same time ensuring that dialects don't go extinct. Many American schools have started offering courses to college going kids in Navaho and other regional dialect so that there is a revival of the speaking base of these native tongues that would have been lost forever. Finally, technology should be used to record all words in written as well as spoken form. Such archives would ensure that the seeds of hope are sown for the future generation to experience upon the rare and distinct cultural knowledge long after there are not native speakers available. In conclusion, we possess the key to unlock the secrets of history that has been passed on to us and it is our solemn duty and responsibility to pass on this rare gem of information into future by taking conscious efforts in the conservation of a local identity while striking a balance without compromising on our global identity.