: -Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

English is a widely recognized international language, it is the language of international commerce and of academics. Due to this, local languages are often overlooked. This puts the local languages at risk of dying out. If there is no one interested in learning a language, then it is highly possible that the language in question might as well cease to exist someday. Learning English is important, but it cannot be prioritized over the mother language. Firstly, English is the official language in more than 50 countries most of which are well-developed nations where one might be interested in settling down in the future. English speaking skills will come in handy in situations when you are trying to migrate abroad. It is also an asset for those who want to study overseas. In addition, the job opportunities for an individual with better English skills are numerous. Having the ability to speak English fluently is extremely important in this age of globalisation as the nations can communicate more easily if their rulers were good English users. A good knowledge of English is also necessary for college students because most of the information required for them to study and to do paper works is written in English. The information available on the internet is mostly in English, so in order to make the best use of that information, users should have a good knowledge of the language. However, I think that the local languages should also be taught in order to preserve them for future generations. It is an important part of the country culture. There are many scriptures and books written in local languages that are full of knowledge and wisdom. For example, in Ireland learning Irish in school is optional and it’s not available in every school, and there are only a few native people who are able to speak in Irish. Which means that the Irish language is fading away, because English learning was prioritized over learning the local language. Including local languages in the school curriculum is one of the many ways to preserve them. Also, the Government should provide incentives such as scholarships to students with local language skills. In conclusion, I believe that English is extremely necessary to succeed nowadays as it creates many job opportunities. Nevertheless, the mother tongue also needs to be given its due respect. I think that an equal effort should be made by individuals to learn both languages.