LEARNING ENGLISH AT SCHOOL IS OFTEN SEEN AS MORE IMPORTANT THAN LEARNING LOCAL LANGUAGES. IF TAUGHT MANY ARE AT RISK OF DYING OUT. IN YOUR OPINION IS IT IMPORTANT FOR EVERYONE TO LEARN ENGLISH? SHOULD WE TRY TO ENSURE THE SURVIVAL OF LOCAL LANGUAGES, IF SO, HOW? GIVE REASONS FOR YOUR ANSWER AND INCLUDE ANY RELEVENT EXANPLE FROM YOUR OWN KNOWLEDGE OR EXPERIENCE

In recent years, parents, students and even schools stress the importance to learn English language than their local languages, as it is being an international language. However, I would say local languages should also give priority to learn as to English language. English language is considered a common language in most of the countries, which means knowing English languages play a vital role in individual’s life. For instance, many application forms, boards, websites, instruction manuals and some notices are mostly published in language English as common. Especially, it is important for the tourists who travel to many countries, knowing English language helps in communicating with any kind of other ethnic group people. Moreover, many countries request for examination results like IELTS, to ensure the English language knowledge. To the contrary, individuals should give essential importance to learn local languages too. Though local languages are not important in foreign countries, it plays an enormous role in the particular country, not only that but also it is considered a pride to know and learn local languages. For instance, nationalities like Chinese and Japanese gives predominance to learn their local languages while they sometimes do not even give importance to English. We could also see them stressing their local language as important and the best. However, some countries like Sri Lanka and India are guiding school children with the importance of knowing the local language. Moreover, they have implemented rules that school children must learn the local languages too. In Sri Lanka it is must to learn Sinhala and Tamil nowadays, it is also considered as one of the main subjects. To summarize, though English is known as an international or common language, Individuals should give importance to learn their local languages. It is not only pride to know the language but also educates children about the historical and special aspects of their local languages. People should principality to the national languages like Japanese or Chinese does.