LEARNING ENGLISH AT SCHOOL IS OFTEN SEEN AS MORE IMPORTANT THAN LEARNING LOCAL LANGUAGES. IF TAUGHT MANY ARE AT RISK OF DYING OUT. IN YOUR OPINION IS IT IMPORTANT FOR EVERYONE TO LEARN ENGLISH? SHOULD WE TRY TO ENSURE THE SURVIVAL OF LOCAL LANGUAGES, IF SO, HOW?

English is a global language, while survival without its knowledge may be possible, growth is not. Today schools lay more emphasis on learning English than any other local languages, which are at risk of extinction, if not taught. This essay will discuss why English is important for everyone to learn and at the same time, highlight the measures necessary for the survival of local languages. To begin with, we should not forget that the world today is a global village and the world economy is a global economy, which need a common language to operate efficiently. For an illustration, the USA hires call centres and IT firms from India rather than China just because Chinese lack the knowledge of the English language. Furthermore, we can’t benefit from scientific researches and discoveries unless we are able to share them using a common expression. This problem has been encountered by countries like North and South Korea, China and others, where research papers are published in local languages and thus lack global recognition. Therefore, for growth in both economic and technological spheres, knowledge of English is indispensable. Secondly, it is also important to take steps for the survival of regional languages as they are the key to the rich heritage and culture of the society, not only the local dialects provide us with the access to the great works of literature but helps us to keep our heritage alive. To do so, schools should not only include these as an academic subject, but rather try to make them more popular among the students with the help of activities like short plays, competitions and group activities. To conclude, it is fair to say that English is the key to success on the global platform and thus important for everyone to learn; whereas local languages are a way to remain connected to the roots of one’s culture and to preserve the world history. Hence, in my opinion, both are extremely important to learn and should not be ignored.