Traffic And Housing Problems Could Be Solved By Moving Large Companies, Factories And Their Employees To The Countryside.

Large cities are known for their traffic jams and expensive rentals, however they contribute substantially towards the economy. The problem of inadequate, expensive rentals and traffic jams cannot be solved by shifting of large companies, factories and their workforce to the countryside. This essay will explain why this is not a feasible solution. First, shifting of a large company requires massive infrastructure projects such as roads, sewage and buildings. In order to accommodate the workers, this new area will require new housing buildings, school, shops, hospital and other facilities. Such projects are usually taken up by the government when they manufacture essential items such as steel and coal. Private companies making non essential commodities will find shifting to a new are short-sighted decision due to its initial cost. Second, most of the cities in the world are in the vicinity of a water body. Water is one of the most important needs for any human activity. Countrysides are usually away from this natural source of water and are supplemented by artificial canals and underground water. This might be enough for sparsely populated rural area, however, it cannot sustain a larger influx of people and water required by the factory itself. In conclusion, it is a difficult task to build cities from scratch and human settlement is a complex balance of wants and the resource available to meet the need of humans. It is a difficult effort to build a community if the initial cost is borne by a few entities without the help of a large investors such as a government.