In your opinion, is a GPS device or a paper map more helpful during travels?

Prior to the proliferation of the internet, when travelers had to navigate their ways during their trips, a GPS device was unheard of. Today, however, it is common for individuals to utilize GPS devices in travels, not to mention it is available in each smart phone nowadays. I am inclined to believe that using a GPS device is more helpful in travels. In the following paragraphs, I will analyze my point of view throughout this essay. Admittedly, GPS devices have made our lives very easy and convenient, in particular, when travelling and visiting new places. On supportive reason is that the GPS device offers endless services, such as, search locations and finds the quickest route from where you are now to your destination. Furthermore, you can obtain more information about interesting places and more popular ones by only one click. In fact, modern cities nearly get updated every day due to the developments they have on daily or monthly basis. Without fetching daily update from the internet, you will not be able to get to the destination by using a paper map. For instance, I remember once that I was in London and unfortunately my battery’s phone died, therefore, I had to use a paper map to reach home. Unsurprisingly, it took me more than three hours to reach home because the paper map is not updated. To conclude, I profoundly believe that nowadays GPS devices are more helpful than paper maps especially with the internet presence around the world. To my mind, to have a safe and better trip, a GPS device shall be used instead of the paper map during travel.