Fossil fuel (e. g. coal, oil and natural gas) are the main source of energy in many countries. However, in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy (e. g. wind power and solar power) is encouraged.

With the boost in the economy around the globe, there has been an increasing demand for all sources of fuel. Although fossil fuels are still the dominant source of energy in many countries, some countries are encouraging the use of renewable energy such as wind and solar power. In my view, I think that this is a positive development because its advantages far outweigh its disadvantages. There are many benefits brought by the consumption of renewable energy. Firstly, encouraging these clean energy contributes to environmental protection. It is well-acknowledged that renewable energy, such as wind energy and solar energy, would not produce a large amount of CO2. However, fossil fuel such as petrol and coal usually emits a great deal of SO2 and CO2, which would lead to global warming. Instead, the alternative energy is powered and utilized through wind and sun, which are clean and inexhaustible. Secondly, developing new sources of energy can boost economic development. Through encouraging this energy, a new energy industry would emerge, which leads to unique economic growth point. New products such as new energy vehicles and some solar energy products would flourish. Thus, promoting renewable energy also benefit the economy. However, the development of clean energy does come with some problems. The first challenge would be it is not practical to replace fossil fuel with renewable energy in the foreseeable future. This is because the current industry around the world relies heavily on the use of fossil fuel due to its convenience and low cost. Another issue is that the technology relating to renewable energy is still not very developed, thus may lead to low efficiency and high price. In conclusion, while some problems are remaining unsolved, I would argue that the development of renewable energy brings more benefits to our world, not only in the environment but also in the economy.