Charities and organizations always give special names to particular days such as 'National Children's Day' and 'National Non-smoking Day'. What are the reasons for these particular days? How effective are they?

Nowadays, people express great concern about the increase of the special days, like 'National Children's Day' and 'National Non-smoking Day', which were named by non – profit organizations. Some explanations for this social trend will be put forward, before an analysis of its impacts on society life is given. The following grounds, in line with my perception and understanding, mainly account for why charitable organizations give the particular day’s new names. To start with, the naming of these days is primarily aimed at national important events, global alarming issues or vulnerable people in society, such as the elderly, children and women. Hence, this could be considered important occasions for people to celebrate anniversaries or express love and respect for those who deserve to receive more care from the whole community. Besides, in terms of social issues, this also is a precious opportunity for such organizations to create a worldwide recognition about these problems, attracting the public’s attention by demonstrating their effects on human beings. Admittedly, some citizens insist that it is not necessary to give a host of days new names for the charitable organizations’ promotion of public welfare because it can cause confusion for the masses. However, the fact supports that naming special days plays a pivotal role in the propagation of charities. As mentioned above, by setting up recognition in the global community, this would raise people’s awareness of social problems, such as environment pollution, violence against women and children, or the harm of smoking as well. Hence, it is not only an effective way to reduce detrimental effects in countries, but it also helps people to raise the sense of responsibility to the community. In conclusion, the way charities and organization giving the names of particular days is necessary that could bring about a lot of benefits for countries and society.