Charities and organizations always give special names to particular days such as 'National Children's Day' and 'National Non-smoking Day'. What are the reasons for these particular days? How effective are they?

Recently, increasing particular days, such as ‘National women’s Day’ and ‘National Public Transport Day’, named by some non-profit organization, have become the focus of public concern. This essay will place some analyses of factors which induce this condition before presenting the influences of this situation. The following grounds, in line with my perception and understanding, mainly account for why charitable organizations give the special day’s new names. To start with, the reason why the days own other names, is precisely on the grounds of getting the attention of the citizens to commonweal activities. Thanks for setting ‘National Non-smoking Day’, for instance, increasing residences get the details about the hazard and harm of smoking and try to get rid of this bad habit. In the second place, this issue may mainly spring from reducing care and love to vulnerable groups in our society. To be illustrated, the children whose parents are both working, get decreasing love and care from their father and mother. Eventually, an interesting reason may also be partially responsible for this condition, which is the demand for news of the mass media. Admittedly, some citizens insist that it is not necessary to give days new names for the charitable organizations’ promotion of public welfare. In their points, the charities can take a vast number of measures to achieve their goals, instead of naming a host of days to confuse the masses. However, the fact support that naming special days plays a pivotal role in the propagation of charities. As mentioned above, according to a government report in a latest journal, the percentage of the smoking population stopped rising and turned into declining slightly after ‘National Non-smoking Day’ setting approximately three decades ago. That is to say, the control of smoking in our nation can be mainly attributed to the propagation of information by this particular day. More specifically, broadcasting programs about the hazard and harm of smoking, the mass media guide the smokers giving up smoking around the non-smoking day every year. On the basis of analysis of the reasons and proof of effects, it is sincerely expected that one day in the near future, our society will benefit increasingly from the new-named days for public reasons by charities.