In the past, the primary motivation for professional sports people was the pursuit of sporting excellence and to be the best in their field. Today, professional sports people are most likely to be driven by the pursuit of money and fame.

In the previous time, the main goal for sportsmen was to achieve the best results and to break records. Nowadays, sports people tend to be more focused on money instead of personal success. I disagree with this statement; I personally believe that sportsmen’s motivation depends mostly on character, not on period of time people live. One main arguments that I would like to make in this debate is that most of popular and successful sportsmen came from poor family that means they started their career when they did not have any financial interest and not when they became well paid. Let us take one Croatian footballer Luka Modric as an example. He was brought up in very poor conditions while there was a war in his country. At first, he had to pay money to a sporting academy, when there was no money even on food. If sportsman is born in low-income family, he cannot work hard only due to money, he just does not know what it is. A different yet principal reason is that the world sports records are being set now more frequently that in the past. For instance, usain bolt and michel phelps have broken world records in main disciplines as swimming and running recently. It does not seem like they follow cash rather than excellent results. To conclude, I am totally unsure that sportsmen nowadays is hunting wealth more than sport success. Since if it was true, world records in swimming and running wouldn’t be broken by usain bolt and michel phelps in near times and they would be set by sportsmen who already passed away. Furthermore, people who rise in poverty tend to be more hardworking and not to crave luxury life.