In the past, sporting champions used to be motivated primarily by the desire to win a match or to break world records. These dáy, they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous. What massage does this send to young people and how does this attitude to sport affect the sports themselves?

Several decades ago, the aim’s athletes were to win a competition and to break the new world records. Nowadays, it seems to have changed, since many young sports persons consider it as the opportunity to become a celebrity or to earn more money. This practice causes lots of harmful impacts. This following essay will discuss about how effect to the young generation in general and the athletics in particular. Basically, professional players are highly paid these days. The condition has led them a luxurious or glamorous lifestyle, and many of them are married to a famous actress or a supermodel, which make generations misunderstandings of its basic competitions. Sport leagues are becoming commercialised as they need the money to pay these athletes. This perspective toward sport could have a bad impact on it. Subsequently, young people will find it as a tool to make a living on it, not to benefit from the emotional gain that sports offers. Furthermore, the athletics players with the materialistic mindset would find ways to cheat or to attract attention from the public, instead of putting real efforts into practicing and trying to win. The core values of sports, which are fair-play and genuine passion would be undermined and neglected. Many games are showing more of an individual attraction rather than a solid teamwork. All in all, prize money and fame are huge motivations for athletes. However, concentrating too much on them makes the sport players lose focus on training. If they can combine the encouragement with their practice approximately, success will come to them