Formal exams are used to assess students at the end of the semester in many countries. Why these exams are used by schools and universities? What other types of assessment are possible?

Every public institution of education needs tools for grades its students and one of the ways to do so is be a formal exam at the end of every semester. This type of assessment has many advantages and one of the most important is a commonly accepted and unified system of grading which compares people across the country or even a continent. However, a formal examination is not the only possible way to evaluate a pupil; a semester long diary made by a tutor or preparing a student's presentation perfectly complements the picture. In times of globalisation, education is as important as its worldwide recognition and a unified system of formal exam fulfils its purpose. One of the vivid examples can be a young, extraordinarily talented female from Poland who, after opening borders and an international acknowledgement of her maturity exams got a chance to study at Cambridge university and currently she is a leader at the cardiology department at a local hospital. However, the whole formality created around this type of evaluation may be intimidating for some individuals who, despite great potential, are not able to fulfil the criteria. In such situations, there should be possible a away to define their progress omitting the official path. A letter based on tutor's observations or alternative way to check knowledge, for example of a set of presentation seems to be an interesting adjuvant tool. Hence this could allow many students with ADHD or Asperger syndrome have a second chance to become a valuable part of society. To summarise this essay is worth pointing out that formal examination is a commonly recognised and a valid way to assess talent. However, it is not perfect and in order to find those who for some reasons do not fit into standardised forms an alternative ways ought to be available as well.