In the past, sports champions used to be motivated by the desire to win a match or to break the world records. These days, they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous. What message does this send to young people an

Nowadays, professional sportsmen are encouraged by premiums and possibility to become well-known in public, that differs from the earlier practice, when the only motivation was win a game or match and breaking records. This essay will first look at question what current practice shows to young generation, and then discuss what influence on sport it causes. Firstly, it should be noticed that the most popular kind of sport is supposed to be a football, and currently the situation about salaries and prizes there is scandalous, as football is constituted on money. Teenagers who are keen of football know the price list, in other words, how many costs every sportsman and what are his payments. Sport was converted into market, and children see that. Sometimes boys make decision to be a football player in order to become well paid and famous. Thus, children get a message that gift and talent can be purchased and sport is a business. Unfortunately, expensive prizes for achievements in other kinds of sport represent them the similar. With regards to effect on sport itself, some positive sides can be found. Sport equipment, especially professional, is highly expensive, therefore, prizes in sport allows sportsmen to buy necessary items. Furthermore, in case people earn in their sport activity, they have not to look for a job for additional salary. Consequently, sportsmen spend all their time on improving results and complete the purpose of excellent performance. In general, it develops sport and produces achievements. In conclusion, there exist drawbacks in what influence on young people’s mind is made by payments and fame of sportsmen, however, despite this negative side, attracting money in sport industry leads to development.