In the past, museums stored information about culture and history. However, nowadays this information can be found through the internet and, therefore there is no need for museums. with this view?

A few years ago, museums were considered to be the complete source of information about culture and history. But, with the advent of the internet, it has become very easy for the people to get information online. Thus, some people think that museums are no more needed, nowadays. I, however, do not agree with this point of view and following are the reasons to believe so. Firstly, the details shared on different websites, regarding culture and history, have a questionable credibility. For example, there are certain web pages that do not have the proper and exact details about certain historical events, especially the blogs written by the common people, who have no thorough knowledge about the incidents. This could often be misleading for the users. But, the museums on the other hand, have guides for their visitors who explain each and everything to them very clearly and that too, from reliable sources. Secondly, the museums provide every sort of knowledge to the interested people, under one roof. For instance, the Lok Virsa Museum in Islamabad, not only portrays the various cultures of Pakistan, but the civilizations from other parts of the world, particularly the neighbouring countries, as well. Additionally, it displays the historical timeline of the Indian Subcontinent too. All of this information could be easily accessed during a single tour of the whole museum. However, in order to search the details about this stuff using the internet, one has to surf through a large number of websites and links, which consumes a lot of time. To conclude, although, the online availability of articles related to history and traditions is quite common these days, this cannot replace the museums. This is because, the source of that information is not always reliable. Moreover, the museums provide a detailed knowledge to the people simply during one visit.