In the past, most people spent their entire career working for one company, whereas people nowadays move from one job to another. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each? Which do you think is better?

After clearing the graduation milestone, the next big event in anyone's life is getting a job. A few have difficulty finding the right job and eventually keep on frequently changing their employer while others are lucky to find it in the first attempt and tend to remain with the same employer for their entire career life. While both the approaches may have its own advantages and disadvantages, I believe in working with a particular firm for an extended period is far more beneficial than continually switching between employers and this essay would discuss the positives and negatives of both approaches in detail. Firstly, people frequently change their jobs mainly because they are unsatisfied with the working environment or they want a higher salary. Whatever be the reason, the primary advantage of changing firms is the opportunity to learn different technology and science. For example, in the IT sector, different companies use different coding languages depending upon their work culture and an IT engineer switching between different firm gets a hands on experience working with different computer languages thus increasing his knowledge. However, on the downside, the hiring manager may consider it otherwise, such as being fired due to misconduct. Due to this many hiring managers perform a background check of such applicants. On the other hand, some may not change their employers much frequently, maybe because of family issues or they are working for a reputed firm with a high salary. Such approach helps people settle down in a particular city and not worry about the hazel of shifting to different cities. According to a survey conducted amongst the city migrants in New York, around 60% of them said that, finding an accommodation is the second most difficult task next to finding a job. On the contrary, continuing with the same company for the entire career life may get monotonous and boring. Despite of it becoming monotonous after sometime, the employee can surely ask for a transfer in some other section and have a fresh start in a different department while still serving the same establishment. In conclusion, frequently changing jobs has many positive implications and knowledge expansion is one of them, however, spending entire working life with a single firm is more beneficial as it helps a individual to settle down. In my opinion, the advantage of working for a particular company outweighs its own disadvantage and is far better than constantly changing the company.