Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment. Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment.

There is often a debate among people, whether it is advantageous to live in a house or an apartment. This essay explains why I believe the drawbacks of living in a house are outweighed by the benefits compared to living in an apartment. Considering firstly the negatives of houses, the most important one is that they tend to be less secure. For example, most houses do not have a security guard or CCTV cameras to guard them and also, houses are typically one or two storeys high. This can be a problem as it is easy for the burglars to break in. On the other hand, apartments usually are more secure as they are guarded by security guards, surveillance cameras and other forms of criminal deterrence. However, the main advantages of living in a house are they are usually more spacious and more private. With regards to the former, houses generally have a number of rooms, which can be useful for families with children, to relax and spend their leisure time. As for the latter, houses are typically built far from each other, which can prevent noise from carrying to the neighbouring residents. For instance, children in a family might require separate rooms to study, which can be possible by having more rooms. In contrast, apartments usually have lesser rooms and the residents also stay in close proximity to each other. In conclusion, I believe the advantages of space and privacy provided by houses outweigh the disadvantages of security when compared with the flats.