In the last 20 years, there have been significant developments in the field of information technology (IT), for example, the World Wide Web and communication by email. However, these developments in IT are likely to have more negative effects than positive in the future.

In the last two decades, the world has witnessed enormous changes in Information Technology and people have experienced new lifestyle by this development. It is obvious that these advancements have brought many benefits for humankind, though it is argued by many, including me, that this enhancement will result in more negative impacts than positive ones in the future. This can be taken into account by analysing both aspects. Firstly, looking at the benefits of this unparalleled development we can see that our lifestyle has got a new dimension with the development of IT which people in the past could not even imagine.   For instance, email has made communication faster, easier and less costly. Individuals, business owners and people from all walks of life take advantages of this faster communication and this has made the globalisation a reality. Furthermore, due to the introduction of World Wide Web, human knowledge has been centralised and every topic is now accessible by anyone from any place in no time. People can get information on any subject of their choice. Online education, distance learning, medical advice, research papers, online books, entertainment are just a few clicks away. By taking these examples into consideration it is undeniable that these improvements have made life much easier and enriched. Keeping the advantages aside, however, the negative impacts of the technology cannot be ignored. It is often forecasted that the negative impacts would be more severe in the future. For example, with the usage of the email system, the traditional way of communication has been destroyed such as letter writing, face to face conversation and it kills our personal touch with others. This will further decline people's basic ability to socialise and interact with each other in the future. The dependency on technology will bring catastrophe if something goes wrong and the way we are becoming dependent is quite alarming. Secondly, because of the huge number of websites and web applications available on the internet, there is no regulatory system to keep close eyes on children’s online activities. This, in turn, could lead to serious moral issues in future. Banking, medical service, traffic control, research, control of a nuclear weapon, shopping, education etc are getting digital and being controlled over the online protocols and a simple mistake could bring unimaginable destruction to human life. In conclusion, following the analysis of advantages and disadvantages of the development of IT, it has been proven that it will have more negative aspects in the future and needs to be addressed prudently to avoid harmful effects on individual and society.