Test and examination is a central feature of school systems in any counties. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

In today’s school systems tests and examinations are major features in many countries where test plays an important role is believed by some citizens. Whereas on same scale others argue that they are not mandatory. However, I feel that testing should not be major a one in the school system for the following reasons. Firstly, a common advantage of examination is that it differentiates best and poor performers i. e. , hard working students are smart in tests compared to others. Similarly, school kids feel that if they want to upgrade for next standard they should appear and pass exams. Hence this concept creates a responsibility on studies. However many nations in the world are preferring this testing format in education. On the other hand, few drawbacks are noticed such as slow learners cannot perform well in the test and this creates inferior complexity among students. If opportunity, time and new learning techniques are imparted to students, they can perform better in tests. Moreover, suicide trends are seen by this examination system. Hence developed countries are exempting testing feature. This phenomenon created confusion in parents, children and teachers whether to continue with the test pattern or simply promote students to next higher class. This brought a drastic change in many countries which headed toward exemption of tests. To conclude with, testing the candidate has both advantages and disadvantages and the overall major advantage is slow learner benefit a lot from exam system.   If passing an exam in not mandatory because maturity and seriousness towards studies are not seen in childhood days, the students can improve as well. The test does not always reflect the true reflection of the students’ merit and thus are often biased.