In the last 20 years, there have been significant developments in the field of information technology (IT), for example, the World Wide Web and communication by email. However, these developments in IT are likely to have more negative effects than positive in the future.

Nowadays, the advancement of Information Technology, specifically the internet has transformed the face of our civilization. Albeit, the internet has several drawbacks, I disagree that it outweighs the advantages. It is true that the internet can bring some negative influences toward human behaviour, such as consumerism and autistic manner, to name a few. Consumerism, for example, is caused by the rapid growth of e-commerce, online advertising, and internet accessibility. Because of these, people found it easy to do transactions. They prefer to buy things online other than making an effort to go to their nearest local retail shop. On the other hand, such conditions, especially internet accessibility, which compounded by widespread usage of mobile gadgets, had induced autistic manner among internet user. Autistic here, means, that people tend to be less active and isolated at the same time because they can easily do things with the internet by only having gadgets in their hand or sitting in front of the computer. However, information technology has also done justice to mankind. Firstly, it helped brings people together despite country boundary and remoteness. Secondly, due to the internet, people can bridge the gap of communication's distance easily and rapidly. Some examples for these are the usage of instant messenger, email, and online meeting application. Finally, since internet helped eliminate territorial's gap, any world citizen can now easily spread their movement to the global citizen. In conclusion, although Information Technology, particularly internet, has several negative impacts, in my opinion, it has more advantages to offer to our future generations.