How important is the dress code in our lives? Do you consider that dressing appropriately is important or are you of the opinion that everyone should be able to wear exactly what they like?

Whether dress code is important or not is a debate that is going for a long time. As far as I am concerned, I think the dress code is important and should be followed especially in schools and offices. The way person dresses up gives a lot of indications about their attitude and personality and therefore can sometimes make or break you. Firstly, having a dress code gives you the feeling of unity and togetherness. Many times having a dress code could make people forget their differences and work towards a common goal. For example, all the sports team and government organisations such as police and armed forces have same dress or uniform, which instils the feeling to being part of the team and working for a common goal. Many schools have dress codes, which is very vital to make the student understand that the in spite of differences in their cultural and financial background, they are equals and will only be evaluated based on merit. Dress codes are also important in offices, especially in customer facing roles. When a person interacts with the clients, he or she is representing the company and dressing appropriately is essential. Different companies have different styles of work which represented by their dress code. For instance, a financial institution generally has a formal dress code, since it gives the impression of being attentive and serious towards their work. Suppose if a person dresses in torn jeans with loose fitted T-shirt and loafers, I am sure clients would not be comfortable giving their money to such hands. Similarly, if you work in fashion industry, you are expected to be funky and experimental and not wear formal clothes. So, it is important to dress according to the profession you are in. In a nutshell, the “first impression is the last impression” and therefore, it is crucial that dress code is carefully chosen and followed.