In the future, it may be scientifically possible for people to live for 150 years. This could be good for individuals but it may have negative consequences for society. What are the benefits and risks of people living to 150?

To live a longer life has been a dream for countless years. With the development of science and technology, it might be possible for people to live for one hundred and fifty years in the near future. However, in my opinion, it may not be beneficial for people to do so. Undoubtedly, there are some major advantages for increased human lifespan. Firstly, people could enjoy longer lives and do more of the things they want, such as trying different lifestyles. They could spend more time with their family and even watch their children grow to old age. In addition, people could contribute more if they lived longer lives, especially scientists and other valuable members of society. For example, if Edison had lived longer, he might have invented more things for us or Mozart might have produced more wonderful music. Nevertheless, there could be many disadvantages if people lived to one hundred and fifty. Firstly, people might be unhealthy in their later years and may be afflicted by painful diseases such as arthritis. Additionally, there may be ethical questions involved. Will everyone be able to live for one hundred and fifty years – or only the citizens of developed countries? Another factor is that an inflated elderly population would cause many problems for society. For example, it would place great strain on the social security system – a situation already developing in countries such as Japan. Finally, the overpopulation of the earth could result in catastrophic damage to the earth’s ecosystem and could lead to ecological disaster. In conclusion, I believe that the disadvantages for people living for one hundred and fifty years far outweigh the advantages. Therefore this development would be a largely negative one for our society.