Nowadays culture is much the same all around the world when compared to previous times. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

People identify themselves with various aspects like culture, language, history and others. These days, every part of the globe has almost the same culture which was not the case in the past. Although it is a constructive phenomenon, I believe that it is undesirable because of the reasons explained in the essay. One major advantage of following same culture worldwide is that equality prevails. In the older times, people were discriminated based on dressing style, caste, religion, nationality and creed whereas now with the same culture these distinctions are slowly diminishing and therefore, this change should be welcomed. For example, in the 1950’s when the Indians went to Australia for colleges, they were treated disrespectfully because of their traditional clothes, but at the present time, almost all students around the world wears jeans and t-shirt for universities and there is no way to make fun of anyone based on their attire. Hence, an uniformity is observed with the similar culture. On the other hand, if the same culture gains popularity, the indigenous individual traditions will be lost. The young people of today wishes to have wedding parties in churches like the western countries which mean that they are gradually discontinuing their own rich customs with great meanings and consequently, these customs disappear from the face of the earth over time. For instance, Hindu weddings are usually composed of series of steps that makes a pact with the natural forces of the world for the well being of the couple. This is now largely abandoned because it is not the style followed in the rest of the nations. Thus, the customs will be destroyed when the current trend continues. In Conclusion, despite of the fact that inequality will not exists with single culture, I am of opinion that the local customs will die out which have significant meaning for its practice.