In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Despite the fact that enormous modern technologies are used in order to make the advances in agriculture, many people do not have enough food to eat. There are many reasons to explain this issue, including social, economic, and environmental-related problems. In this essay, I will answer the questions of why people in the world undergo this problem and how to solve this issue adequately. It is evident that many nations have made some improvements to their agriculture such as changing suitable methods of farming for particular seeds by using technological advances. However, these improvements do not mean the famine of food can be solved. Environmentally speaking, most of the lands are not fertile sufficiently to grow plants because of soil erosion, or they have a rugged geographic location. Take Thai Binh, an impoverished province in Vietnam, as an example, the irrigation system cannot be constructed since most of its land is mountains. Meanwhile, water is one of the essential factors in cultivation; without water, how plants can grow up? Climate change, besides, also causes the famine. Extreme drought weather does not allow people to cultivate the crops. For instance, in some Africa country, it has not rained in years, and we can see the famine seriously in these regions nowadays. Another contributing factor is the poverty since food scarcity can affect only the poor people. It is difficult for impoverished people to access the modern agriculture machines because they lack this purchasing power. Furthermore, most of the poor people do not own any land to grow their own food while there is no money buying the food. In order to solve this problem, the governments need to ensure that food is available for the poor for free or at concessional rates, and also the gap between the poor and the rich should be reduced significantly. One further response includes long-term investments such as improving cultivation conditions, diminishing environmental pollution, and furthermore giving more job opportunities to poor people. For example, communities and organizations can construct factories relating to agriculture to employ residents as the principal workforce. To sum up, hunger continues to haunt millions of people because of many factors such as the changes of climate and wealth distribution. However, this situation can be solved optimally with the appropriate solutions from many aspects of society.