The cultures of many coutries around the world become more similar than they used to be. What are the reasons for this trend? Is it positive or negative?

The cultures of multiple countries are becoming more and more alike, which may be claimed as a positive tendency. The causes for this phenomenon will be discussed in this essay. As for the causes, one of the most significant factors contributing to the issue is, beyond doubt, migration. Nowadays, more and more people leave their motherland for very distant places. For instance, numerous students, aspiring to gain an education of high standard, enter universities abroad. Mingling with native counterparts, they inevitably share their outlook which, at first sight, might seem dissimilar or even somewhat appalling. But over time, even seeming peculiar stances on common things become a norm. Furthermore, widespread of Hollywood movies and the Internet are believed to be a great power to erase boundaries between different cultures. For instance, exposure to abundant advocacy of certain way of life, for example, coming from movies, might undermine the belief of righteousness of local customs, thereby drastically changing people' s attitude towards their set of values. Talking about an attitude toward the situation, the benefits appear to outweigh the negative aspects. A deeper understanding of foreign cultures seems to be able to unite people or even prevent conflicts. For example, people believing in different religions used to deem each other enemies which led to gruesome slaughters. Furthermore, as people tend to evolve, they glean only the best from foreign cultures. All in all, I would claim that the phenomenon mostly is a positive trend in the contemporary world and globalization seems to be its primary contributor.