In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. why is this so? what can be done about this problem?

There is no doubt that food prices are gradually increasing. While there have been many technological advances in the agricultural sector and an increase in yield, many people across the globe still starve to death. This essay will explore the causes of this disturbing trend and propose a feasible solution. Firstly, production cost involved in agriculture is the main reason for high food prices. This is due to the lack of financial support from the government and also high price of the machineries. Moreover, the tools and machines used for sowing and harvesting are expensive for the farmers and they indirectly raise food prices. As a result, low-income consumers cannot afford food and they suffer with hunger pains. However, the government should assist the farmers financially to control the prices. For example, the government could offer low interest loans to the farming community and also subsidise farming utilities. This will aid farmers to supply quality food in bulk to the market. When the government fails to control the farming expenses, the poor section of society cannot afford the food. Thus fluctuations in food prices can be controlled to a large extent with governmental interventions and food security can be ensured for all sections of the society. To conclude, millions of people still go hungry because they cannot afford to buy food at the current prices. It is the responsibility of the government to implement the solution mentioned above to ensure that all sections of the society have enough to eat. As long as food remains expensive, no advancement in the field of agriculture will eradicate hunger.