In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

There has been a series of termination of business of small local stores that is increasing in number in recent years. The consumer's now prefer large malls wherein there is assortment and accessibility of products. This occurence is a negative development as it has resulted in unemployment and loss of tourism. One serious problem that can arise from the closure of the small shops is that the competition between the small shops and the large shopping centers will disappear. As a result the large malls will stop providing discounts on the goods as they do not face competition; therefore, they will not reduce the prices. For example, malls offer discounts throughout the year to keep their customers away from the small shops. Thus, the closure of small shops will affect the customers. Another issue is that many people will lose their jobs and become unemployed. In other words, when the small shops close, people employed by them will lose their source of income, and that will put them in a difficult situation. For example, many families run small shops to earn their living. When they go out of business, their families will struggle to survive. Finally, the closure of small shops in some places will affect the tourism industry. Many tourists prefer the small shops in the streets instead of the big malls, and the reason behind this is that walking in an old beautiful street watching people doing performances and other people shopping is more joyous than being inside a large building of concrete. In conclusion, although it has become easier for people to do shopping in one large center, the closure of small malls has brought too many problems for this to be considered a positive development.