Some people believe that schools should only teach children’s subjects which are beneficial to their future career and therefore other subjects such as music and sports are not important. with this statement?

It has been suggested that schools should only focus on teaching academic subjects since they are vitally important to children’s future career path. Therefore, other subjects such as sports and music should be ignored. Nevertheless, I completely disagree with this view because of the following reasons. Obviously, non-academic subjects like sports and music play an important role in an individual’s well-rounded growth. First, practising sports could contribute to building a healthy and flexible body. For instance, doing regular physical exercise could enable children to build stronger muscles and bonds which are essential for children’s physical growth in the long run. Not only does this helps student to develop an active and healthy lifestyle, it also frees them from the stuffy atmosphere in class rooms. Second, music could exert significant impacts on children’s cognitive and intellectual development. Scientifically, children are able to develop the areas of brain related to language and reasoning better than others thanks to musical training. For example, students playing musical instruments from the early time may find it easier to learn foreign languages and be able to solve math problems. Furthermore, in a competitive job market, academic qualifications and specialized knowledge might not be decisive factors for children to achieve their career success. In fact, if children are well-equipped themselves with interpersonal skills, problem-solving ability and critical thinking, this will give them a competitive edge to enhance their employment opportunities. Thus, the academic are just necessary conditions for them to pursue their ideal job. In conclusion, I strongly believe that other subjects including sports and music should be considered as equal as professional subjects in school syllabus by virtue of their certain advantages and the negative aspects of academic knowledge on their future career.