In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

The World today is facing with many problems that threatens human race and other species. Specifically, hunger is one of the most important issues that causes many people’s death every day. Even though humans have found to improve the ways of agriculture, it did not help to procure a solution for hunger of humanity. This essay will argue some reasons and some solutions for the mentioned problem. To begin with, the major cause of the high rates of poorness is capitalism. To illustrate, recent reports showed that only 10% of the world’s population has the equal amount of income with the rest of the world. This data clearly shows that even the advancements in agriculture is not a way to overcome the inequality of people in terms of the money they receive. If governments do not focus on the equality of humanity, people will not be able to buy food or farm in their lands. On the other hand, governments may take some action such as encouraging farming by lowering the costs on necessary materials for agriculture. For example, here in Turkey, the government has decreased the percentage of taxes on trucks for farmers only. By doing this, policy-makers have intended to increase the production of local food products and so that, people would buy it for more affordable prices. Therefore, governments, specifically those in developing countries, ought to take some steps to increase their citizens’ wealth. In summary, only agriculture is not enough to preserve hunger and so, people’s wealth. There must be further and permanent solutions to reach better and fast results. Even if it is too late to avoid from capitalism, governments may look at the strategies that have been successful in developed countries such as the Netherlands, Germany and so on.