Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects. Other people say this is a waste of valuable school time.

Today, learning about the news from different parts of the world is essential to many people. It has been suggested that the review of such news should become a high school subject although some think this would waste school time. I think this is a great idea provided that inappropriate news are filtered out and there is enough time for other important subjects. On the one hand, reviewing global news can help high school students improve their general knowledge in areas like geography and cultures. This is because the news comes from around the world and often present significant details about different regions and their features, which means students would possibly gain a better understanding of the world. It also seems that studying the news can develop the students’ ability to analyse sophisticated situations because when they follow a story, say, about a political rift between two countries, they can observe how it develops or escalates, how the parties involved act and what its consequences are. On the other hand, there are some issues with studying global news in high schools. The violence portrayed in many of today’s news stories could affect students’ conduct. For instance, almost every newspaper and news website these days is filled with images and stories of the ISIS executions in Iraq and Syria, which are likely to make youngsters feel insecure or make unreasonable judgements about any Arab friends they might have. Furthermore, reading and analysing the news would probably be a time-consuming activity, leaving insufficient time for more important subjects and activities like sciences, math or physical education. In conclusion, I believe it is wise for secondary school students to study global news at school as it may develop their general knowledge and ability to understand the world. However, they should avoid violent news stories, and there should be enough time left for more important subjects.