Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time.

Art is a very important part of humanity’s history, and it can be found anywhere from the walls of caves in the halls of museums. While some believe that learning art in school is not important, I side with those who feel that art is an important subject. On the one hand, it could be argued that studying art in schools is a loose of a student's precious time. Those who support the idea of art as a non-essential subject argue that schools only provide basic art training and to enhance a student’s artistic skill parents need to enrol them in specialized training institutes. Students will learn better stills in specialized institutes rather than in schools. In short, they feel that the school should focus on imparting knowledge on essential subjects like Science, Math and Information technology. They also argue that studying art in school will not enhance the scope of employability in the future. On the other hand, I side with those who believe that learning art in institutes is not a waste of time. It is a fact that through art pupils is able to express their ideas and view more openly rather than in words. For instance, introvert students can convert their thoughts through nonverbal communication and art can be one of the means. However, my strongest argument for supporting arts in school is that children learn about their culture and history. It is easy for children to interpret the idea or thought from pictures and sculptures rather than by just reading books. In conclusion, although the school provides only basic training in arts, leaning arts does provide children with a better understanding of their history. Therefore, on balance, I strongly believe art should be considered as an important subject of the school's curriculum.