In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

It is true that despite the technological improvement in the agricultural sector, many around the globe still experience hunger. There are several reasons for these such as, poor transport system and lack of technical knowledge; however, the authority can take certain steps to tackle these problems. The key reason why many around the world are starving is an inadequate transportation system in many countries. The challenges of poor road networks and inadequate means of transport makes the crops makes it difficult for farm produce to arrive at the market early and in good condition. In addition, transporting of commodities using a wrong storage means waste as the majority of the farm produce will get bad before its arrival to the market. For instance, in Nigeria, the National Union of Farmers carried out a survey in 2017, which revealed that 80% of food wastage occurred due to use of inappropriate means of transporting food items to the city centres. Furthermore, the insufficient technical expertise to operate farm equipment also result in global hunger. In other words, majority of machinery used by farmer are operated below its capacity because farmer lack the knowledge to optimize them. There are various ways the government can intervene to curb these problems. Firstly, by improving the means of conveying foodstuff to the market. For instance, in 2017 the Lagos state government provided 200 cooling van to butchers to ensure meat processed from various abattoir arrive at their selling point fresh. This curbed the wastage in meat and meat produce sector within the state. Secondly, organisation of sensitization programme to educate farmers on the basic use of all farm machinery. These will ensure that all farm equipment are been optimized to its full potential and guaranty a bountiful harvest. In conclusion, globally hunger is still occurring despite technological advancement in agriculture for various reasons. However, government can solve these issues by providing appropriate means of conveying goods and organising enlightenment programs to farmers.