As child obesity becomes a serious health issue in today’s society, some people feel that TV commercials advertising junk food aimed at kids should not be shown in children’s viewing times

In recent times, obesity among children has become a major health concern in many countries around the world. In response, it has been argued that commercials promoting unhealthy food should not be aired during times when children are likely to be watching television. Although such limitations on advertising seem harsh, I am of the opinion that these rules are appropriate. Limiting junk food advertisements to late night programming does have some concerns. First of all, introducing such rules suggests that people cannot be trusted to take personal responsibility. It assumes that parents can be coerced into buying unhealthy foods for their children by simple commercials, which could be considered patronizing. Furthermore, some could argue that these laws would be just another unnecessary intervention of government. It must be acknowledged that government involvement is not the answer to every problem within society. However, there are a number of reasons why these laws are indeed necessary. Firstly, television advertisements have proven effective in misguiding people’s decision-making. Commercials often promote unhealthy foods in the context of fun or happiness, when in reality, obesity is more likely to lead to depression and sickness. In relation to personal responsibility, it has been shown that people are incapable of being responsible on this subject. Thus, it is government’s responsibility to take action where many parents have failed, and these rules would likely be an effective measure. In conclusion, while restricting junk food commercials to late night programming does seem strict, I believe that taking this action is a necessary step in fighting the childhood obesity epidemic.