In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e. g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e. g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

In some educational institutions girls opted for art and craft studies while boys want to take science stream. In my opinion, there is a plethora of reasons for this phenomenon. In the current situation this trend should be changed because of gender equality and women empowerment. To begin with, girls have more artistic characteristics, however boys want to solve more logical puzzles. In other words, girls have inborn talent and interpersonal skill which is important in art subject. Moreover, in science subject the expenditure of study is high. To be more specific, in India many people believe that girls will go in their husband's home so they consider as an expense while for boys they consider it as an investment. Furthermore, girls are more creative than boys this thing they taught from their childhood by doing household chores and well arranged home skills. Nowadays government has already started special programs for women empowerment and gender equality. Additionally, in each and every field special reservation for women are imposed for the job. For example, Kalpna Chawala is a famous astronomer for space research while Arjit Singh is an eminent singer in the musical industry. This example clearly indicates that in present scenario, there is no discrimination between gender. Consequently, in future also this freedom of choice should be remain and anyone can join whatever they like. To conclude, girls mostly opted for arts while boys want to choose science in their studies due to several inborn talents and the expenditure of a particular subject. However, this trend is now changed completely because of gender equality and women empowerment of this egalitarian society.