In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e. g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e. g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

According to the traditional belief, men are the bread winners while females are caregivers and responsible for taking care of the family. This belief, along with some old-fashioned views that boys are good at mathematics while females are not, is the predominate reason for many parents to encourage their sons to study in science while daughters to art-related subjects. I wholeheartedly believe that this trend should be changed. To begin with, it is generally believed that boys are good at science-related subjects. This view is rooted so deep in our society that many females have already accepted it. This is more prevalent in developing countries where parents expect their sons to have a career while daughters become moderately educated and finally get married and have a family. Strangely, studying in science majors require more money in most of the countries and this is why parents naturally select their boys to study science. Females, on the other hand, need to take many responsibilities of the family even during their student life and prefer to have subjects that do not require a great deal of study, as they consider it. Men and women have similar capacities and given an equal opportunity many women would excel in science related subjects. Great scientists like Marie Curie, Ada Lovelace, and Emilie du Chatelet have proved that women are no less than men when it comes to science. The heinous trend of gender discrimination even in education should be stopped. Good news is that women in many engineering and technology subjects are already occupying half of the seats in many prestigious universities. Thus the day is not far away when the social custom or emotional aversion of parents would accept that their daughters are just as talented as their sons are in any areas including science. To conclude, women empowerment is quite an important factor for the overall development of a nation and that is why females should be given a fair chance to participate in any subjects including science majors in schools. This trend would bring more positive outcomes than restricting their fields of education and work.