In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e. g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e. g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

There are few institutions and colleges where females women are interested in selecting the arts stream courses like literature whereas males men prefers are selecting the science stream courses such as physics, chemistry. This essay will first discuss about the factors leading to the practice in selection of the subjects and then about the need to change this trend. On the one hand, the foremost reason for this phenomenon is that the boys are more competitive and are fascinated in selecting the most challenging and physically demanding courses like science and engineering while the girls are opting to pick the less competitive subjects such as literature and history. There is a strong belief in society, that in future the boys are the ones who financially support the family, so their choice of subject in science which guarantees job with a good salary scale, while the girls are forced to choose the arts stream subjects, just to hold a degree or to have a less challenging job. For example, the higher side of lecturing jobs is held by females, and in contrast, scientists by males. On the other hand, this trend should be changed by individuals on giving importance to their area of interest not by the tradition or social influences. Moreover, the awareness has to be spread widely about the selection of career path, because students will excel in their chosen fields only if they are interested in it. For instance, history has proven that women are as good as men in science as many females are awarded Nobel Prize in science. In conclusion, the gender characteristics and society are still influencing the choice of study and career. This trend should to be changed by the students by selecting their own interested field rather than social influence