In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. What do you think are the causes of this development and what measures could be taken to solve it?

To begin with, the New Year eve, Halloween, etc. western ceremonies have become more popular these days than the traditional festivals in many countries. For instance, in many Asian countries, the new Year are more prominent celebration than their century-old festivals. Globalisation, the internet and satellite TV channels have made a lasting impression on young to accept foreign cultures even more. No doubt the traditional ways of life no longer have an appeal to the modern generation and thus they have inclined to accept global culture over their own ones. In regards to preventing this development, parents and teachers should teach the younger students the value of their own culture. There is nothing wrong in knowing about the foreign culture but when they become our main culture, the problems arise. As the citizen of a country, we must not forget our history, tradition and culture. Thus the patriotic feelings should be nurtured to be even better citizens and prevent the detrimental effects of alien cultures. Moreover, more chapters on academic syllabus should be dedicated to teaching the students about our true identity, cultural aspects and traditions. This will create a sense of respect and adherence to our own culture. To conclude, each tradition has its own set of traditional occasions and events which should be more emphasised than the foreign traditions. Building up an acute sense of patriotism and respect for our own culture is required to save our true cultural identity.